José María Alonso


Elena Otero-Novas

Deputy Chairperson

Juan Serrada

Deputy Chairperson

Urquiola de Palacio

Deputy Chairperson


The Chair is MIAC’s highest representative and executive body. 

The Chairperson is appointed by the Council for a four-year term. The Center’s current Chairperson is Mr. José María Alonso.

The Chairperson is assisted by (i) three Deputy Chairpersons, who are appointed for a four-year term, and (ii) a Support Committee, made up of two Council members, who are appointed for a non-renewable one-year term.

During his or her term, the Chairperson may not act as an arbitrator in any arbitration case administered by the Center. The Chairperson may not be appointed as an arbitrator where MIAC acts in the capacity of Nominating Authority.